Info Archives

Welcome to the page of the Archives of the Archdiocese of Montreal.

The Archives of the Archdiocese of Montreal are rich in history. They are a precious heritage that allows us to better understand who we are. Through them, it is the history of our country that unfolds before our eyes.

The Archdiocese of Montreal recognizes the importance of the transmission of the patrimony of documents for the historical culture and the mission of the Church. Through the page of this website, we want to make better known the places of worship of the diocese, its religious institutions and the great figures of our history. We also hope to highlight the significant role of religious communities for both yesterday and today’s society.

Moreover, we want to make available on internet some of our historical documents and make known some of our obscure or forgotten fonds. Each month, it is through the publication of a document from our collections that we offer an opportunity to rediscover our common history.

Since the foundation of Montreal’s diocese nearly 200 years ago, the face of the Church has greatly changed but Christ remains the same, yesterday, today and forever (Heb 13:8). This reality becomes tangible through the discovery of our Archives.

Our papers are echoes and traces of the passage of the Lord Jesus in the world, said Pope Paul VI. It is Him that we discover through these pages of our history.

"And behold, I am with you always, until the end of the age.'' (Mt 28:20)

June 2016: Mother Teresa visits Montreal

2016 will be the year of Mother Teresa of Kolkata's canonization. The foundress of the Congregation of the Missionaries of Charity will be canonized on 4 September 2016 in a ceremony scheduled to take place in Rome.

Read more …

May 2016: 180th anniversary of the diocese of Ville-Marie

This month marks the 180th anniversary of the foundation of our diocese. It is on the 13 of May 1836 that Pope Gregory XVI canonically erected the district of Montreal into a new diocese .

Read more …

April 2016 - The division of Montreal’s Notre-Dame parish

Ignace Bourget, second Bishop of Montreal, was at the head of our diocese for more than 35 years. During his long episcopacy, he implemented many initiatives and took important decisions with consequences extending to our own days.

Read more …

MARCH 2016 - 35 years of dedication. A short history of the permanent diaconate in Montreal

Permanent deacons are familiar figures to anyone who regularly attends Mass in our diocese. It is not unusual to notice a deacon assisting the priest in the Sunday liturgy or celebrating the baptism of a child. .

Read more …

FEBRUARY 2016 - The Cardinal’s hospital

On 24 January 1956, the Archbishop of Montreal made a rather surprising acquisition. Cardinal Léger acquired the former Montreal General Hospital located on Dorchester Boulevard (now René-Levesque).

Read more …

JANUARY 2016 - The struggle around Curé Antoine Labelle

On the night from the 3 to 4 of January 1891, the renowned Curé Labelle passed away in Quebec City. Although his name is typically associated with the Laurentian region, we often forget that Antoine Labelle was first a priest of the diocese of Montreal.

Read more …

DECEMBER 2015 - The Inauguration of Montreal’s Church of the Gesù

On December 3, 1865, feast day of Saint Francis Xavier, a new church opened its doors in Montreal.

Read more …

NOVEMBER 2015 - November 7, 1840: the signing of a concordat leads to the foundation of Montreal’s Grand Séminaire

Sources : ACAM, Fonds Derome, Ph3a 0084Unlike what we might be led to believe, the beginning of the 19th Century in the diocese of Montreal was characterized by an important lack of priests. As the Catholic population of the district of Montreal continued to increase...

Read more …

OCTOBER 2015 - Inauguration of the Catholic School of Social Service

Sources : BAnQIn October 1940, 75 years ago, Montreal's new Archbishop Joseph Charbonneau, inaugurated the Catholic School of Social Service.

Read more …

SEPTEMBER 2015 - The inauguration of the Saint-Sulpice Library, 100 years later

Source: Archives de la Ville de Montréal, VM94-Z176-1100 years ago, on September 12, 1915, the Saint-Sulpice Library was inaugurated on Saint-Denis Street. This project was primarily the initiative of the priests of Saint-Sulpice, who funded its construction

Read more …

AUGUST 2015 - On 31 August 1940, Bishop Charbonneau becomes Archbishop of Montreal

In many respects, Archbishop Joseph Charbonneau remains the most misunderstood bishop of Montreal. Despite spending ten years at the service of our diocese, his surprising and unexpected resignation has absorbed everyone's attention.

Read more …

JUNE 2015 - 400th anniversary of the first Mass celebrated at Rivière-des-Prairies

On June 24, 1615, for the very first time, a Mass was sung at Rivière-des-Prairies. It was the first Eucharistic celebration on the island of Montreal (or at least since Jacques Cartier's journeys).

Read more …

MAY 2015 - The Saint-Jean-de-Dieu asylum

On May 6, 1890, 125 years ago, the Saint-Jean-de-Dieu asylum was completely ravaged by a terrible fire. Despite the rapid intervention of firefighters, only a few fragments of walls remained standing. The psychiatric hospital run by the Sisters of Providence hosted nearly 1,200 patients.

Read more …

APRIL 2015 - On April 19, 1840, Montreal Lost Its First Bishop

175 years ago, on Easter Sunday, Bishop Jean-Jacques Lartigue passed away after a long illness at Montreal's Hôtel-Dieu hospital. Titular Bishop of Montréal for less than four years, Bishop Lartigue had been auxiliary bishop of the Quebec diocese and in charge of the district of Montreal...

Read more …

MARCH 2015 - The Liturgical Reform of 1965: 50 years of Masses in English

On March 7, 1965, Pope Paul VI celebrated the first Mass in vernacular in the Roman parish of Ognissanti officially opening the door to the adoption of new liturgical reforms. This change took place a few months before the last period of the Second Vatican Council.

Read more …

February 2015 -The Brothers of Charity: 150 years of service in Montreal

As we celebrate the year of Consecrated Life, the Church of Montreal marks the 150th anniversary of the arrival in the diocese of one of its most fascinating male religious communities. The Brothers of Charity set foot in Montreal on the 22 February 1865.

Read more …

JANUARY 2015 - Sixty years ago our cathedral adopted a new name

Every now and then, we receive a message from someone looking for Montreal's Saint James Cathedral where parents or grandparents were married. These individuals are surprised to learn that this Cathedral still exists and has now been known for sixty years as Mary Queen of the World.

Read more …

DECEMBER - 100-year-old letter to Rome

The relations of Montreal's Catholic Church with the Holy See have always held a place of importance in our history. However, the distance separating our diocese from Rome and the means of transportation of the past could lead us to question the depth of the relationships existing between the Bishops of Montreal and the Popes over the centuries.

Read more …

NOVEMBER - Consistory of 26 November 1994: Archbishop Jean-Claude Turcotte elevated cardinal

On November 26, 1994, a consistory was held in Rome, in which the Holy Father appointed thirty new cardinals.  In this sixth consistory convened by Pope John Paul II, the former Archbishop of Montreal Jean-Claude Turcotte was invited to join the College of Cardinals .

Read more …

OCTOBER - One hundred years ago: the blessing of Notre-Dame-des-Sept-Douleurs in Verdun

One of the unsuspected wealth concealed in our archives are the annual financial reports of our diocese's parishes. Although, one could easily judge these columns of figures to be of little relevance to the historian, they in fact contain a multitude of details that allow us to better understand the history of Montreal's parishes.

Read more …

SEPTEMBER - Behind the scenes: The papal visit thirty years later

Thirty years ago, John Paul II arrived in Montreal for a two-day visit. Three decades later, the public events that filled his schedule remain engraved in the memory of those who attended them.

Read more …

AUGUST - First World War

This year, the month of August marks the 100th anniversary of the beginning of the First World War. On August 4, 1914, the United Kingdom declared war on Germany, joining the concert of nations involved in a military conflict that would reach a new span. By doing so, the United Kingdom steered its colonies and its dominions in a war that lasted a little more than four years.

Read more …

JUNE - 175th anniversary of the Saint-Raphaël-Archange de l’Île Bizard

Originally named Saint-Bonaventure, Île Bizard was given as a fief to sieur Bizard, major of Montreal on October 25, 1678. The origin of its name can therefore be traced back to its first owner. On maps of the period, Île Bizard was also referred to as Major Island.

Read more …

MAY - Canonizations of Pope Jean XXIII and Jean-Paul II

On April 27, 2014, the Catholic Church celebrated the canonization of two great popes of the last century. One can wonder if the archives of the diocese of Montreal have kept traces of these two great men. Pope John Paul II was undoubtedly more familiar with Montréal and our Diocesan Church than his predecessor.

Read more …

APRIL - Venerable Rosalie Cadron-Jetté

150th anniversary of the death of the venerable Rosalie Cadron-Jetté, founder of the Misericordia sisters.

Read more …

Info-Archives

Bienvenue sur la page des Archives de l’Archidiocèse de Montréal.

Les archives de l’Archevêché de Montréal sont riches en histoire. C’est un patrimoine précieux qui nous permet de mieux comprendre qui nous sommes. À travers elles, c’est toute l’histoire de notre pays qui défile devant nos yeux.

L’Archevêché de Montréal reconnait l’importance de la transmission du patrimoine documentaire pour la culture historique et la mission de l’Église. Par l’entremise de la page web de ce site, nous souhaitons mieux faire connaître les lieux de culte du diocèse, les institutions religieuses et les grands personnages de notre histoire. Nous voulons également souligner le rôle d’envergure des communautés religieuses pour la société d’hier et d’aujourd’hui.

Finalement, nous souhaitons rendre disponible sur internet certains de nos documents historiques et mieux faire connaître nos fonds trop souvent méconnus ou oubliés. Chaque mois, c’est par la publication d’un de nos milliers de documents que nous vous suggérons de redécouvrir notre histoire commune.

Depuis la fondation du diocèse de Montréal il y a bientôt 200 ans, le visage de l’Église à beaucoup changé mais le Christ, lui, demeure le même, hier, aujourd’hui et demain (Hb 13,8). C’est cette réalité qui devient tangible à travers la découverte de nos archives.

Nos bouts de papier sont les échos et les traces du passage du Seigneur Jésus dans le monde, disait le pape Paul VI. C’est Lui que nous découvrons à travers ces pages de notre histoire.

« Et voici, je suis avec vous tous les jours, jusqu'à la fin du monde. » (Mt 28,20)

Juin 2016 : Mère Teresa visite Montréal

2016 sera l'année de la canonisation de Mère Teresa de Calcutta, fondatrice de la congrégation des Missionnaires de la Charité. La cérémonie de canonisation est prévue à Rome le 4 septembre 2016.

En savoir plus...

Mai 2016 : les 180 ans du diocèse de Ville-Marie

Le mois de mai 2016 marque le 180e anniversaire de fondation de notre diocèse. C'est le 13 mai 1836 que le pape Grégoire XVI érigea canoniquement le district de Montréal en diocèse.

En savoir plus...

Avril 2016 - Querelles de clocher : le démembrement de la paroisse Notre-Dame

Ignace Bourget, deuxième évêque de Montréal, fut à la tête de notre diocèse pendant plus de 35 ans. Durant son épiscopat, il mit en place de nombreuses initiatives et prit d'importantes décisions dont les répercussions sont encore bien visibles aujourd'hui.

En savoir plus...

MARS 2016 - 35 ans de dévouement. Petite histoire du diaconat permanent à Montréal

Pour quiconque fréquente régulièrement les paroisses de notre diocèse, le diaconat permanent fait partie de l'ordinaire. On ne s'étonne plus de voir un diacre assister le célébrant dans la liturgie dominicale ou célébrer le baptême d'un enfant.

En savoir plus...

FÉVRIER 2016 - L’hôpital du Cardinal Léger

Le 24 janvier 1956, l'Archevêque de Montréal fait une acquisition plutôt surprenante. Le cardinal Léger se porte acquéreur de l'ancien hôpital général de Montréal situé sur le boulevard Dorchester (aujourd'hui René-Levesque).

En savoir plus...

JANVIER 2016 - Un bras de fer autour du curé Antoine Labelle

Dans la nuit du 3 au 4 janvier 1891, le célèbre curé Labelle s'éteignait à Québec. Bien que son nom soit habituellement associé à la région des Laurentides, on oublie qu'Antoine Labelle était avant tout un prêtre du diocèse de Montréal.

En savoir plus...

DÉCEMBRE 2015 - L’inauguration de l’église du Gesù de Montréal

Le 3 décembre 1865, jour de la fête de saint François Xavier, une nouvelle église ouvrait ses portes à Montréal.

En savoir plus...

NOVEMBRE 2015 - Le 7 novembre 1840 : la signature d’un concordat voit naître le Grand Séminaire de Montréal

Sources : ACAM, Fonds Derome, Ph3a 0084Contrairement à ce qu'on serait porté à croire, le début du XIXe siècle dans le diocèse de Montréal est marqué par un important manque de prêtres. Alors que la population catholique du district de Montréal ne cesse d'augmenter...

En savoir plus...

OCTOBRE 2015 - Ouverture de l’École Catholique de Service social

Sources : BAnQIl y a 75 ans, en octobre 1940, le nouvel archevêque de Montréal, Monseigneur Joseph Charbonneau, inaugurait, l'École catholique de service social.

En savoir plus...

SEPTEMBRE 2015 - Inauguration de la bibliothèque Saint-Sulpice, 100 ans plus tard

Sources : Archives de la Ville de Montréal, VM94-Z176-1Il y a 100 ans, le 12 septembre 1915, était inaugurée sur la rue Saint-Denis, la bibliothèque Saint-Sulpice. Ce projet est avant tout l'initiative des Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice, qui financèrent les travaux.

En savoir plus...

AOÛT 2015 - Le 31 août 1940, Monseigneur Charbonneau devient Archevêque de Montréal

À bien des égards, Monseigneur Joseph Charbonneau est l'évêque de Montréal le plus méconnu. Malgré ses dix années au service de notre diocèse, son départ aussi subit qu'inattendu a focalisé l'attention de tous...

En savoir plus...

JUIN 2015 - 400e anniversaire de la première messe célébrée à Rivière-des-Prairies

Le 24 juin 1615, pour la toute première fois, la messe est chantée à Rivière-des-Prairies. Il s'agit alors de la première célébration eucharistique sur l'île de Montréal (du moins depuis l'époque de Jacques Cartier).

En savoir plus...

MAI 2015 - L’Asile Saint-Jean-de-Dieu

Le 6 mai 1890, il y a 125 ans, l'asile Saint-Jean-de-Dieu fut complètement ravagé par un terrible incendie. Malgré l'intervention rapide des pompiers, il ne restait que quelques pans de murs à cet hôpital psychiatrique tenu par les Sœurs de la Providence et qui accueillait près de 1200 patients.

En savoir plus...

AVRIL 2015 - Le 19 avril 1840, Montréal perdait son premier évêque

Il y a 175 ans, le jour de Pâques, Monseigneur Jean-Jacques Lartigue, rendait l'âme à l'Hôtel-Dieu de Montréal des suites d'une longue maladie. Évêque en titre de Montréal depuis seulement quatre ans, Monseigneur Lartigue avait été évêque auxiliaire du diocèse de Québec, mais responsable du district de Montréal...

En savoir plus...

MARS 2015 - La réforme liturgique de 1965 : 50 ans de messes en français

Le 7 mars 1965, le pape Paul VI célébrait la première messe en langue vernaculaire dans la paroisse romaine de Tous-les-Saints ouvrant officiellement la porte à l'adoption de nouvelles réformes liturgiques. Ce changement eut lieu avant même la fin des travaux du Second Concile du Vatican.

En savoir plus...

FÉVRIER 2015 - Les Frères de la Charité : 150 ans de présence à Montréal

En cette année de la vie consacrée, l'Église de Montréal souligne le 150e anniversaire de l'arrivée dans le diocèse d'une de nos plus fascinantes communautés masculines. Les Frères de la Charité s'installèrent à Montréal le 22 février 1865.

En savoir plus...

JANVIER 2015 - Il y a soixante ans, notre cathédrale changeait de nom

Occasionnellement, il nous arrive de recevoir un message d'une personne à la recherche de la cathédrale Saint-Jacques où des parents ou grands-parents se seraient mariés. Ces individus sont surpris d'apprendre que la cathédrale Saint-Jacques existe toujours et qu'elle est connue depuis soixante ans comme la cathédrale Marie-Reine-du-Monde.

En savoir plus...

DÉCEMBRE - Correspondance romaine centenaire

Les relations avec le Saint-Siège ont toujours occupé une place d'importance aux yeux de l'Église montréalaise. Cependant, la distance séparant Montréal et Rome et les moyens de transport d'époque nous permettent de nous questionner sur la profondeur des liens existant entre les évêques de Montréal et les papes au fil des siècles.

En savoir plus...

NOVEMBRE - Il y a vingt ans - Consistoire du 26 novembre 1994 : Monseigneur Jean-Claude Turcotte devient cardinal

Il y a vingt ans, le 26 novembre 1994, avait lieu à Rome un consistoire au cours duquel le Saint-Père nommait trente nouveaux cardinaux. Lors de ce sixième consistoire convoqué par Jean-Paul II, l'archevêque de Montréal, Monseigneur Jean-Claude Turcotte était appelé à joindre le collège cardinalice.

En savoir plus...

OCTOBRE- Il y a cent ans : la bénédiction de l’église Notre-Dame-des-Sept-Douleurs de Verdun

Parmi les richesses insoupçonnées dont recèlent nos archives sont les rapports financiers annuels des paroisses du diocèse. Bien qu'on puisse juger ces colonnes de chiffres peu pertinentes pour l'historien, ces dernières renferment en réalité une multitude de détails permettant de mieux comprendre le développement des paroisses de Montréal.

En savoir plus...

SEPTEMBRE - Les coulisses de la visite papale : Trente ans plus tard

Il y a trente ans, le pape Jean-Paul II foulait le sol de Montréal pour une visite de deux jours parmi nous. Trois décennies plus tard, les grands rassemblements ayant marqué son séjour restent gravés à la mémoire de ceux qui les ont vécus.

En savoir plus...

AOÛT - La Grande Guerre

Le mois d'août marque cette année le centième anniversaire du commencement de la Première Guerre mondiale. Le 4 août 1914, le Royaume-Uni déclarait la guerre à l'Allemagne, joignant le concert de nations impliquées dans un conflit militaire qui allait atteindre une envergure nouvelle. Avec lui, le Royaume-Uni entraînait ses colonies et ses dominions dans une guerre qui allait durer un peu plus de quatre ans.

En savoir plus...

JUIN - 175e anniversaire de la paroisse Saint-Raphaël-Archange de l’Île-Bizard

L'Île-Bizard, à l’origine appelée Saint-Bonaventure, fut donnée en fief au sieur Bizard, major de Montréal, le 25 octobre 1678. C’est donc là l’origine de son nom. Sur les cartes du temps, l'Île-Bizard était aussi désignée sous le nom de l'Île-Major.

En savoir plus...

MAI - Canonisation des papes Jean XXIII et Jean-Paul II

Le 27 avril 2014, l'Église a célébré la canonisation de deux grands papes du siècle dernier. Les archives du diocèse de Montréal ont-elles conservé des traces de ces deux grands hommes?

En savoir plus...

AVRIL - Vénérable Rosalie Cadron-Jetté

150e anniversaire du décès de la Vénérable Rosalie Cadron-Jetté, fondatrice des Sœurs de Miséricorde.

En savoir plus...